Resources

Local History Room

The City of Burnside operates a Local History Room within the library. This is a research room, items cannot be borrowed. Details of the library can be found on the City of Burnside website.

All of the publications listed below can be found in the Local History Room, and many can be downloaded below – any with brown bold text.

Local History Publications

  • The First Hundred Years, edited by Dudley Coleman
  • The Paddocks Beneath, by Elizabeth Warburton (also see Extended Index below)
  • Five Creeks of the River Torrens, South Australia, edited by J.W. Warburton
  • Speaking of the Past, by Elizabeth Warburton
  • Burnside… Then and Now, by Barbara Cromptonli>
  • The Village of Beaumont, by J.B. Cleland
  • The History and Topography of Glen Osmond, by Thomas Gill
  • The Glen Osmond silver-lead mines, South Australia: Australia’s first metalliferous mines, by Ross A. Both and Greg J. Drew

Burnside Historical Society Publications

  • Video about the history Wheal Watkins Heritage Mine 1843, produced 2024
  • Burnside Street Names and their Origins
  • Suburb Names in Burnside
  • Survey of Plaques in the City of Burnside
  • Self guided walking tour leaflets of Beaumont, Beulah Park, Burnside village, Eastwood/Parkside, Glen Osmond, Knightsbridge (Leabrook), Rose Park and Waterfall Gully
  • The Paddocks Beneath Extended Index. Experience has shown that the index at the back of the book has limitations. This Extended Index includes even the most minute references to people, including all family members – not just the family surname, name of the house and the suburb plus references to maps in the book. Trades and professions of the members are listed with dates of births. Cost $12, copies are available for inspection and purchase at our meetings or by contacting us.
  • A short survey of the activities of the Burnside Historical Society from 1980 to 2013, by R House, 2013

Useful Links

Events

Organisations

Research Sources