History Month Tour
Saturday 22 May 2021 at 11.00 am (60 mins tour)
18 Jackson Street, Magill
Bookings required – Event capacity 16
Contact Margaret, 0438 838 894 or email Burnside Historical Society
Subdivision for the village of ‘Makgill’ in 1838 included land for a chapel and cemetery. Early European settlers, contributors to developing the district, were buried in Magill Wesleyan Cemetery, including Charles Bennett founder of Bennett’s Pottery, Joseph Crompton wine and olive maker and the Black family.
Mary Cock and her son donated land for the Magill Wesleyan Church and in 1878 it was held by trustees. It changed title in 1944 and there was a trustee revision in 1958. In 1974 the cemetery was transferred to the City of Burnside.
Join our guided tour to discover the stories behind the headstones.